House Bill 2263 (Section 701) summary

HB 2263 sponsored by Representatives Springer, Walkinshaw, Robinson, Tharinger creates an option for local communities to implement a new 1/10 of 1% sales tax for affordable housing, mental health facilities, operations and maintenance, and services.

This would create a new funding source that could be finely tuned to meet local needs.

Bill details

The bill requires that at least 60% of the funds be used for building affordable housing, building facilities to deliver mental health services, or operations and maintenance (O&M) for new affordable housing or mental health facilities.

The funds would serve people with mental illness or people whose income is at or below 60% of the area median income in that county and who fall within one of the following population groups:

- Veterans
- Senior citizens
- Homeless families with children
- Unaccompanied homeless youth
- Persons with disabilities
- Domestic violence survivors.

The remaining funds can be used for housing related services or mental health services.

Implementation requires a 50% vote of the local county council and allows for cities to implement if a county fails to act on the option within two-three years (depending on county size.).

The option is similar to the Mental Illness and Drug Dependency tax (MIDD) implemented in 2005. (RCW 82.14.460) The MIDD generated \$96.6 million statewide in 2014 (county breakdown below)

County	2014 year to date	County	2014 year to date
Clallam County	\$947,237.48	Okanogan County	\$586,367.30
Clark County	\$5,505,345.21	Tacoma	\$4,143,007.84
Columbia County	\$415,209.62	San Juan County	\$400,723.91
Cowlitz County	\$1,554,969.52	Skagit County	\$2,270,533.87
Ferry County	\$70,276.44	Skamania County	\$99,841.31
Grays Harbor County	\$859,657.77	Snohomish County	\$11,425,457.28
Island County	\$765,405.39	Spokane County	\$7,799,996.60
Jefferson County	\$374,327.93	Thurston County	\$3,971,291.49
King County	\$46,946,604.52	Wahkiakum County	\$34,020.15
Kitsap County	\$2,675,034.73	Walla Walla County	\$805,155.48
Lewis County	\$1,104,495.88	Whatcom County	\$3,396,408.86
Mason County	\$530,388.95	State Administrative Fee	\$971,418.20
		Total:	\$96,681,757.53

The following counties had not utilized the option: Pacific (implemented as of April 1, 2015), Pierce, Chelan, Kittitas, Yakima, Klickitat, Douglas, Grant, Benton, Lincoln, Adams, Franklin, Garfield, Asotin, Whitman, Stevens, Pend Oreille